Air cooled hood setup..need help

Alright so I am new to this obviously and have so many questions, any criticism good or bad I can handle just looking for the best for what I have …

So I have about a 4x4 space I recently ordered

And I can’t seem to wrap my head around how you set up the air cooled light and the fan… would I do the carbon filter/duct/hood/duct/fan???
I’m so confused

@Hellraiser Here ya go.

3 Likes

You can connect the filter to the hood, run the flexible duct off the other side of the hood, out of the tent where you’ll have fan located. Connect to the fan and then blow the filtered warm air where ever you need it to go.

Or this…

Okay and that cools the light only ? Or does it help with temp also?

If the filter is at the top of the tent, it will help with temperature control too.

2 Likes

Hell yeah! Thank you for the help !

1 Like

Using fig 4 would I need an inlet fan to help with cooling, co2 and negative pressure?

Putting the filter before the light help keep dust, dirt, and dead bugs out of the light.

3 Likes

Passive intake is just fine. I just have a bottom
Flap open. I’m working on a little project I’ll finish up next weekend for my idea of a cheap way to filter the intake air. I’ll tag you in it.

You want a little bit of negative pressure toward the end of flower to ensure no scent leaks out.

4 Likes

The example @NeoGroR put up is most common. The semi loops in duct there to give some flexibility in raising and lowering fixture without moving fan and filter. I also agree that a decent sized passive intake will be plenty good in most situations.

1 Like

Here is a drawing of how I do my HID tents.

A few notes:
You should not need an intake fan. I have them as a “just in case.”
400 watts will suffice, but isn’t optimal for a 4x4 tent. 600 watts would be better.