About to begin. Just a few questions about grow medium

Hi,
I am a newbie. I plan on growing outside in a 5 gallon pail with drain holes. I am considering Coco coir as a medium. Thoughts on that. Do I need to fertilize sooner being there is no soil? Should I mix in Perilite? The first seed is a White Widow Auto. Has anyone used Coco Coir successfully? Any suggestions are appreciated. I live in the south there are still plenty of warm days and nights coming for the next several months.

Thanks,

If i grow outside i will use pro mix mixed with pig and chicken manure and some pearl lite. My hole is 2 1/2 foot diameter and about 2 feet deep or a little more i will pour blood meal and myckos a root accelerator at the bottom then at the foot mark i will pour a cup of myckos again and fill and plant then when it gets 4ft i will put about a inch of manure around it the rain storms will break it down in the south pretty good hop this helps. I’m in the Midwest and have gotten really good results on a 14 foot plant i usually get 6 or 7 pounds

This grow will be in a pot and I do not have access to those kinds of manure.

Thanks for the response.

O.k. sorry there’s soil mix recipe on here i use pro mix and peat mixed together with epsom salt and domestic lime your local grow store will have worm casting and bat shit. Then if your closer to the coast you will want a little more drainage. How big of a pot i assumed 30 gallon or better?
You can get local manure off Craigslist you want the stuff from the barn yard so it has the urine in it. It’s cheap and make s the terpins come out in the buds. Jorge Cervantes has a soil video on YouTube all about this. The owner of Humboldt seed has a video to and about pig poop. In the end it’s your call hope this helps you happy growing 🖒🖒🖒