A New Beginning - Help with 1st planting in 45 years

I am new to this whole site, including the forum. I live in the Phoenix, Arizona area and I have purchased the Zkittlez Autoflower seeds. My thought process is to get them germinated around mid-January indoors, moving them to maybe solo cups from rockwool cubes in a couple weeks and transplant them outdoors within a month. A few questions here… is a 3 gallon smart pot good for these plants, or should I go with 5 gallon or beyond? Is my timing and process good for the germinating/planting? I am concerned about the heat of the summer. Planting at that time, I hope to avoid that. Am I able to plant a second crop? If so, when should I start it?

With autos you should be fine starting now they generally finish in 3-4 months

AZNewbie:

One of the more important “issues” you will face in your area is the minerals in your water. Colorado river water has VERY high levels of minerals; your PPM (Parts Per Million) of water right out of the tap could be 800,000 to 1,200,000. Look up the reports your local water company publishes about this; it is available online.

Begin to familiarize yourself with some of this. And ask more questions - there ARE people on this forum who can assist you in almost anything; and remember - growing is learning.

Thanks! Can you tell me anything about the type of soil, the amount of water and nutrients that these plants might need?

Fortunately, I live in the San Tan Valley area that is on Johnson Utilities water, which uses well water. I looked at the water quality report and I should have no problem with it. Thanks for the warning! From what I have read, the Zkittles Auto take more water and nutrients. I guess that I just have to play that by ear. I will be planting in the 5 gallon smart pots, so I am trying to look for soil to use. I went to Walmart and didn’t find what I was looking for. Any suggestions there?