2nd Grow: Acapulco Gold

Hi fellow growers,

Welcome Back, My Friends, to the Show That Never Ends ~ Ladies and Gentlemen (EML). Did the title give away my age? I graduated HS summer of 73 and began smoking herb at some point during the winter of 73/74. The Vietnam war was ending for America, Tricky Dick was on his way out, and my oh my the music!!! Led Zeppelin, Deep Purple, Black Sabbath, Hawkwind, EML, and many more bands were at their best.

Back then 3 fingered “lids” were 20 bucks for Mexican dirt bags, sometimes we got lucky and scored better Jamaican or Panamanian grade weed. If we got really lucky or could afford it, we scored Columbian Gold or Acapulco Gold which would blow our minds. It’s really a crying shame that those pure landraces were not preserved.

So, in memory of those landraces I have decided my 2nd grow would be a Barney’s Farm Feminized Acapulco Gold. And I do know it’s not the same Acapulco Gold from the 60’s and 70’s. According to Barney’s Farm we have a 30 /70 Indica/Sativa dominant mix promising a long lasting high with a relaxing stress reduction and upbeat effect.

Oh, and by the way, I haven’t smoked Cannabis for over 20 years. (I did eat some fudge cakes made with canna-butter from the first grow cuttings (Candy Kush)). I am mostly growing for Grandma’s medicine needs (she’s a life long smoker of 86 years young now) and decided to try growing instead of buying from the streets.

The grow

Grow Box: 15" W x 11.5" L x 32" H
Lighting: 150 Watt UFO Led /about 12” away from plant. Getting about 900 lux
Humidity: Between 40 – 85%.
Temp: Between 75 – 93 F
Water: Reverse Osmosis (RO) filtered water
PH: 6.0 - 6.5
Soil: Fox Farms Happy Frog
Genetics: Barney’s Farm Feminized Acapulco Gold
Start Date: 10/31/17