1st timer here super noob , indoor northern lights Op low budget af

Super noob here, decided to grow a few northern lights to start with. I just got a lady to pop out of the ground and am going to get ph testers for soil and water. I am going to use the nutrients from the site but am not sure if the ph levels rise after adding the nutrient to the water?

4 Likes

Welcome to the community. You have found a home among fellow growers like you and myself that can find answers to any question you may have on all the aspects of growing. Just ask away someone here can help. happy growing :rofl: :bat:

3 Likes

Welcome! What ph tester are you looking at? You can get away with a cheap tds meter but cheap ph meters are junk, you’d be better off with drops IMO.

Both nutrient lines I’ve tried have lowered my ph.

If you haven’t bought the nutes yet check out jacks321. Very budget friendly option and simple to use.

3 Likes

Don’t waste your money on a soil ph tester. Put it the $$ toward a decent PH pen. Also a TDS / PPM pen is a must have. To find what the ph of your soil is do a slurry test. Easy enough to google that and follow directions. All you need is the soil, a jar, distilled or RO water and PH and TDS pens.
The effect nutrients have on water’s ph depends. My well water has ph of 7.5 and tds of 150 - 180. Most of the nutrients will decrease the ph. Some additives I use, like Silica and fulvic acid, will increase ph. You are best off to have both PH up and down on hand. You can use vinegar to adjust ph down. Not sure what a ph up alternative is.
Auto or photo?
This one of four NL photo from this past summer. Nice plants with no major issues.

Good luck

3 Likes

@Password. I am a new grower also. My tap water is 7.2-7.4. After adding nutrients and calcium/magnesium the pH drops to 5.8. I believe the sweet spot is 6.3-6.5 so I adjust up. More experienced growers will certainly chime in and help you.

Happy grows to you!

3 Likes