When to harvest AC/DC outdoors

I have a question about a strain I am new to growing. We have two AC/DC plants that are blooming quite vigorously. The buds are covered in trichomes that are milky colored now and just beginning to have a few amber trichomes. I normally harvest my other plants at about 50% Amber trichomes. Is this the same for the High CBD AC/DC strain?

5 Likes

@kolive I should still harvest when tricombes are amber I personally start watching the tricombes when I have about 60-70% red or brown pistols and then harvest when tricombes are at my personal preference
Happy harvesting brother they girls look ok great
:v:CB :+1:

Country nailed it. Trichomes are always a good sign of when to and wen not to harvest. Typically depends on what kind of meds you want. Heady, energetic, couch lock or maybe a mix of both.

Looking good tho!!! Let us know the yield on that bad girl. :nerd_face:

Thanks Snowman. I use trichomes color for my regular strains and shoot for 50% amber. But these AC/DC plants are not thc but CBD plants and did not know if it might be different for them. I will Post yields from the two plants after harvest and trimming are done.

I have no idea, never grown a cbd strain before.

Hey @peachfuzz you ever grow acdc? I gave my two cents maybe you can give the extra 98 cents :money_mouth_face:

I would harvest them just like you normally do with your other plants… :wink:

:v: :sunglasses:

Thanks peachfuzz

1 Like

That meme about “harvest at 20% amber for head high and 80% for couch lock” is because the CBD is coming in as time goes on. I would wait for a lot of amber if I wanted lots of CBD.

Another trick would be to do low temperature extraction (like with alcohol) to make oil that is eaten. The THC-A is never converted to THC but the CBD is all there. THC-A has no effect on humans, so you don’t get high. (Unless you smoke, vape, or bake with it, of course.)