Soil recomendadtions

I am a semi successful newbie. I made a lot of mistakes during last years grow and want to start thinking about spring. First…What is a good seedling soil? Last year I just got some cheap stuff. I plan to place the sprouted seeding in a peat plug first. last years roots were constricted by the nylon netting and I plan to remove that. What should I plant the peat into?
I have AK47 autos and super skunk autos. I plan to grow outside in movable pots. I can purchase Fox Farms Ocean Forest near me so I plan on using that for the grow. I have the fox farm trio and good PH meter all from last year.
What else do I need?
Bluto.

3 Likes

@Bluto i have read that Fox Farm Happy Frog is best to start in. I started in Fox Farm Ocean Forest and it worked fine, though there was a tiny bit of nute burn from soil at early growth. Most growers will say that ocean forest is a hotter soil. My next grow i am thinking of using both individually or mixed

4 Likes

Try rapid rooters, they work well for me. I had alot of problems with the peat plugs. I soak them in bottled spring water and 1/8tbs of great white.
I make seedling mix with 40% peatmoss 40% vermiculight 10% wormcastings 10% rinsed pumice stone. I sprinkle greatwhite in when i mix it all up.

2 Likes

Here are the grow bags to use. Easy to move etc. Prevent over watering… You will want 5 gallon bags for growing autos outdoors. I would also recommend you sprout right in there forever home. Every time you transplant you introduce a recovery period into the grow and with only 4 short weeks before they flower you don’t want to slow them down at all, if possible.

@Bluto Glad to hear you will be growing again this spring. I have grown both AK47A and BBA love both.

I use FFHF and prefer it to the OF.

Hope this helps!

1-2-3-5-7-10 gallon soft pots

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B013JM3JSA/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o00_s00?tag=greenrel-20

6 Likes