Newbie planning hydroponics grow, help please!

Hi everyone!

I’m totally new at this and was planning on starting my first “crop” as soon as I can gather all the necessary supplies. I would like to get some feedback from the experts for a push in the right direction. My only choice is to go indoors, and from what I have read hydroponics seems to be the best way to go.
I was thinking of getting “grandma’s secret garden” box which says it can do 9 plants. It comes with 125w cfl, is that enough power for 9 plants? If not would I be able to just buy a bigger bulb? I don’t know if the balast it comes with can handle something bigger?

As far as strain, I wanted something with a relatively high yield, good for indoors, and forgiving for beginners. I read white widow and northern lights fit this description?

Nutrients, I wanted to try Robert’s but not sure about compatability with hydroponics and measurements?

Would love to hear back from the more experienced here on these questions. If you have other suggestions on equipment, nutrition, strain etc.

Thanks!

I’m sure they mean 9 seedlings. It’s only 3 feet tall. I think it’s made for only 1 plant maybe 2. That is just me thoughts. How many plants you want to grow at one time?
Tom

Hi Tom,
I would like to grow 9, LOL. Looking at the details on some of the strains mentioned, some are in the high 20 to high 30 inch range. I thought those would be OK in 36 inches height of the box. I know you have to take into consideration the space the light will take up at the top, but it also mentions the plants have room to bend at the top. I don’t know, like I said I’m new to this. Interested in hearing back from you guys.

Thanks

@danh18, while some of the strains list growth of 10" - 36", you also must consider that some strains may be quite bushy, and wide.