Need some advice, 5 gal dwc

Hey guys, I am fixing to start a new grow and need some input. I am presently using a 5 gal dwc system in which I do a complete change of the bucket every couple days. I have the air lines running through the lids

Heres a pic of it. I am getting some of the wide lip net cup covers that replace the lids. How do you guys run your supplemental air lines, through the tops or into the sides of the buckets, and do you guys siphon out the fluid and replace? Need some good ideas. Also, if anyone can hip me to good airstones for 5 gal buckets, and how you keep em in place in the bucket bottom, id’ appreciate that. And finally, any suggestions on pumps. Right now, I’ve been using the aquarium pumps from Walmart.

1 Like

I’m just starting out in hydro myself so I don’t have much expertise yet. I think most people run the lines from the lid. I would think it would be ok though if the holes were drilled high enough on the side. As far as keeping the stones in the bottom, mine stay in place just fine. They’re heavy enough that they stay there. I’ve seen some with suction cups though if you think that will be a problem for you.

1 Like

You should be replacing the entire bucket when you swap out fresh nut holes should be in the side of the bucket, just under the lip where the lid snaps down, and the air stones are replaced with the bucket.

2 Likes

so just have a dedicated line and stone for each bucket, and just disconnect and reconnect line from the pump during the swap then. I was thinking about using a siphon system and retaining the same bucket, simply because when the plants get kinda tall it’s a little tricky to maneuver the top and the buckets in my space with one dude.

The problem is that in DWC, you have to clean the bucket and stone regularly in order to maintain a healthy root zone.

2 Likes