Gold Leaf Odor at 2 weeks of veg

@bob31
I think this is the right place for this question. My Gold Leaf girl is at the end of her second week of Veg and she is doing great. Down below is a photo of her. My question though is should she be developing an odor now? Because she is. A definate odor. Stronger during the day when the temp is a bit higher. But I dont have to get less than about 18 inches from her and I can smell her. Not a light odor either. I didnt think the plants developed a strong odor until they started into flower and then when the trichomes start to develope well. So, can someone enlighten me here? I am a newbie and this is my first grow. I have a grow journal going if anyone is interested.
Forgot the picture. Not the best, meant to turn the light off but forgot.

5 Likes

patients grasshopper! lol

1 Like

Yes, during veg you can expect your girls to give off a light aroma. Now, when flowering comes around. That’s when you get the whiffs of a skunk smell in the distance.

2 Likes

My girls are 15 days old and I can smell them. Not an overpowering aroma but, being my first grow also, I too was surprised at the smell this early. I’m curious if good genetics are a factor. Any thoughts?

2 Likes

I would think good genetics are a factor. A big one. Excellent phenotypes in this plant as in yours. This GL girl is displaying an interesting mix. One, is that it is more of a bushy type to date. It isnt stretching like I expected though that could be due to it only being 2 weeks in veg and working on the roots. Going 3 weeks now, I will be watching her to see if she starts stretching up, even with having FIM’d her a 3 or so days ago. She is full of surprises. Gold Leaf, super plant.

Forgot to put this other question in
@bruinsfan33